Yes, That’s an opt-in feature. You can record all the footage you want and keep it on your phone, and they won’t see any of it, unless you ask for it be analyzed by their AI (as laid out in the article you shared). Of course if there was evidence they’re doing it when I haven’t opted in I’d dump em.
It’s made clear during onboarding, but I’m sure it could be better.
People don't like to be watched and recorded. That's it.
This data - which includes their facial features, geolocation, and activities is not yours to take and immortalize.
This should be intuitive to any empathetic human being. One person saying "this breaches my sense of safety and privacy" should be enough for you to understand.