Wouldn't think I'd be cheering Antrophic decision, but this is excellent.
They probably were thinking about how that serves them as an ad, not about transparency, but still.
I say they should go one step further and somehow make it harder/inconvenient to turn it off (big tech is good at this already, so...); or, maybe, hide that option behind extra feature under premium subscription or something.
P.S. The comments are pure gold. They don't like they can't fake authorship and have the audacity to be indignant!
As a Claude user this is just a benefit to me. Means I can grab the session and resume if I ever see a commit I want to jump back into, and Claude can read these sessions itself whenever I reference the commit, which helps a bunch.
It might come with advertising benefits for them but expect it’s mostly just because it helps their tools work and that benefits everyone.