I pay for the Pro ChatGPT plan, and if you go to settings > data controls this is the first setting:
> Improve the model for everyone
> Allow your content to be used to train our models, which makes ChatGPT better for you and everyone who uses it. We take steps to protect your privacy. Learn more.
It's on by default. We can debate whether or not it should be opt in or opt out, but no one should be surprised by this.
There's a difference between "this is allowed under their ToS" and "it is academically unethical to fail to credit the people whose specific conversations were fed into a model that was used to solve a problem".
I don't think these people would be so miffed if they had been properly credited - that's how academia works (at least, that's my understanding of it).
> We take steps to protect your privacy
No mention what those “steps” are, success criteria, or whether they are successful by any navies at all … they take steps though… so it’s fine, and if we know one thing it’s that we can really truly trust someone off the likes of Sam Altman.
Not unticking a box in settings doesn't constitute consent in my opinion. I'd never put anything I value into ChatGPT anyway, though.
"Improve the model for everyone" can be implemented in so many ambiguous ways.
Ok, you shut it down, or that is what they make you believe. You give the instruction to shut down, you can't know if it has been applied.
I refer you to this:
https://news.ycombinator.com/item?id=49643556
Quoting:
> "I've reset this more than once and the last time I made a careful note of when I did it and to my surprise I found it re-enabled when I checked just now."