It's basically an additional policy on top your OS's policy, while waiting for the stores to update, it protects the users.
Or allows Google to override security. They could also trust a certificate here, maybe one owned by the regime.
Or allows Google to override security. They could also trust a certificate here, maybe one owned by the regime.