This seems far from paranoid and rather more like a sane default. It’s on of my favorite features regarding sharing photos. On desktop if you want to send photos to a site you would upload them one by one, it would be madness if a site requested “Oh yeah just upload your entire photos directory just in case for more convenience, we promise we’ll only use the ones you select ;)”