logoalt Hacker News

fxwin • today at 2:13 PM • 2 replies • view on HN

... what else would we expect it to do?

> When you provide us feedback via our thumbs up / down button, we will store the entire related conversation, including any content, custom styles, conversation preferences, or model settings, in our secured back-end for up to 5 years. [...] We do not combine your feedback with your other conversations with Claude.


Replies

saurik • today at 2:26 PM

I would expect that, if you turned off the feature where they can use your data, that they would remove those features, so you don't either accidentally click them or fail to understand that it isn't some kind of local-to-your-account mechanism.

➕ show 1 reply
another-dave • today at 2:24 PM

Generally (and with Anthropic), enterprise plans aren't used for training / tracking / targetting.

There's a whole spectrum of things they could do from most to least aligned with that as a principle.

For example, they could have a thumbs up/down

- just track the metadata of the conversation (e.g. model used, how far through its context it was, how old the session was) - track metadata of the user as a whole (how often they use Claude, how many other "active" conversations they have on the go, how much they've tested other models, if this is their first time using new tweaks to params etc) - have contextual feedback of the chat available for humans to review (alongside the comments you put in the feedback), but not explicitly train on it.

Whereas the option they've chosen is:

> If you explicitly report feedback or bugs to us (e.g. via our thumbs up/down feedback button), or otherwise choose to allow us to use your data, then we may use your chats and coding sessions to train our models.

So literally using your session as training input. They also could've allowed this to be an opt-in on bug reports.

➕ show 2 replies